Wine and wishes for 2013

wpid-Photo-Feb-15-2013-901-AM.jpg

Unlike in Manila, I neither heard fireworks in the neighborhood nor horns and trumpets blasting in the night to usher the new year. I guess it’s a Filipino thing, to welcome the New Year with noise to ward off bad luck.

My Dec 31st was spent cleaning and doing the laundry. I’m superstitious in some way. I want our room and all our other stuff clean when 2012 turns into 2013, to have a semblance of order and peace in the new year. I know that our future is what we make it and it’s not determined by some superstition. I was merely keeping things in order to have an orderly and peaceful future. (Ha!)

Dinner was served at 8PM. I served chicken parmigiana on spaghetti with mushroom-tomato sauce. We had chocolate chip cookies for dessert, and White Zinfandel to wash them down. My husband isn’t a drinker, so after only 3 glasses he was sprawled on the couch. It was up to me to finish the bottle. No complains there! Haha!

By 11:30PM, I woke him up to watch the ball drop with me. I wanted to go to Times Square for it, but that night I was very thankful we didn’t go. It was really cold! We wouldn’t want to catch a cold on the first day of 2013.
Ed and I wished for the same things for 2013. We’ve only been married for 4 months, yet it’s clear that we are on the same page. I pray that the Lord will continue to bless our marriage with patience, understanding, strength and love.

Cheers to the new year!

Leave a Reply

