Snow

I may look stupid in the pictures or sound like a simpleton when I get so excited with snow. I spent 27 years of my life in a tropical country, after all. So pardon me, Americans, for acting so childish when there’s snow! Haha!

My first snow was a week after Hurricane Sandy hit. I literally had tears in my eyes as I watched the heavy snowfall and saw the ground slowly getting covered in white. No, I didn’t cry. My eyes were just misty, too overjoyed. Snow started falling during lunchtime on Nov 7, 2012. The next day, everything looked so majestic. I had a chance to marvel at it for a few minutes, and then I had to take very careful steps in about 5 inches of snow at the back of the house to get the shovel in the garage. My husband was at work that day, and I took it upon myself to shovel the pathway. It was an intensive 2-hour task with a heavy shovel and a dense closely-packed snow. But I had fun playing snowballs by myself.

I didn’t have a white Christmas nor a white birthday. The next snowfall happened on the evening of January 25, 2013 and February 2, 2013. The mornings after those days were spent in the snow again. Unlike my first snow, this was easier to manage. The snow that covered the ground was powder-like, very light, yet still made the world look magical. Of course I had to take pictures.

I don’t know when I’ll get tired of the snow. I’m pretty sure that awe-struck reaction will still prevail over the next few years. This is definitely one of nature’s amazing display of beauty and grace.

Leave a Reply

