On rituals

I took my first Communion when I was in 2nd Grade. I didn’t have to attend classes in my parish to prepare myself since I was enrolled in a Catholic school. I remember the excitement about finally being able to take Communion during Mass. I felt like a grownup who was given permission to take Jesus Christ into my physical body to nourish the soul.

Fast forward about 10 years after. Taking Communion (or attending Sunday Mass, for that matter) was merely a routine, like it was something I just had to do for the sake of being considered a practicing Catholic. I lost the excitement I felt during that first Communion ritual.

After getting married in the courthouse in August 2012, my husband and I haven’t been able to take Communion during Sunday mass. We couldn’t, because we weren’t married in Church yet. Now that I have lost the ability to physically accept Jesus in the form of Holy Communion, I feel like I’ve lost my connection with Him. Yes, I pray fervently (in and outside of the Mass). But it’s just not enough. I realized how important Holy Communion is to me, that it is not a routine but a privilege.

On October 2013, my husband and I will be reunited with God in Holy Matrimony. By then, I will have a renewed fervor for the Sacrament of Eucharist.

It’s a privilege I won’t take for granted again.

3 thoughts on “On rituals

Leave a Reply

