Be mindful of pride

I’ve been an official lector in our parish for the past 9 months, and it’s been great. I love proclaiming the Word and for the past 2 months I’ve been getting compliments on the way I read on Sunday mass.

There’s the good-job compliment, the you’re-really-good, the I-enjoy-your-reading, and the best of all: the you’re-my-favorite-lector.

Whenever I receive compliments on the way I proclaim the Word, I feel happy and proud of myself. Thankfully, I realize right away that I shouldn’t be too proud of what I’m able to do. I am, after all, merely acting as a medium for God to teach the community of his love, justice and mercy. My ability to proclaim his word effectively is a gift from Him, meant to be shared with everyone. Feeling proud about it is not the right thing to do. Besides, it’s God’s Word, not mine.

Prayer: Thank you, Lord God, for blessing me and allowing me to proclaim Your Word. I praise You and bring glory to You each time I’m up on the podium to read. I rightfully offer all compliments to You, Lord God, for it is through You that I am an effective lector. May the members of our parish see Your love and mercy through my talent. Amen.

Leave a Reply

