Summer Capital

What is known as the Philippines’ “summer capital” is not an island with coconut trees and a glorious strip of beach. The summer capital of the Philippines is the cold city of Baguio, locatedย 5,050 feet above sea level. When we came home in October 2013, we weren’t able to soak under the sun in an island about an hour away from my hometown.

Nope. We spent 3 days and 2 nights in the summer capital of the Philippines, as if we miss the cold weather. HAHA!

The last time I was in Baguio City was in 1998. More than ten years after, the city has gone through a lot of changes, and I’m not sure I like those changes. It’s too crowded for me, too commercialized. I kind of miss the quiet and how Baguio made me feel isolated from the city life.

Nonetheless, my husband and I had fun with some of his family. It’s always a fun trip with kids around who constantly talk about farts and making jokes out of it. We did some sight-seeing, and picture-taking (of course), and brought home fond memories and jars of Baguio City goodies.

Image
At the Bencab Museum

Image

Image
Philippine Military Academy (PMA)
Image
Burnham Park
Image
The Mansion. The President’s residence in Baguio City
Image
HIgh gates of The Mansion

1385025_10202321982870897_733909902_n

Leave a Reply

