How social media changed the social landscape

Before Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, Google+, Vine, Flickr, people pick up the phone to catch up on what’s happening in each other’s lives, or set a date and meet up for lunch or dinner or drinks to TALK.

In this age of social media, most people (especially the 20 somethings) just upload photos or post new status updates to let their “friends” and families know what’s been happening in their lives, such as a new job, new house, new car, new boyfriend/girlfriend or getting engaged or married or having a baby. Suddenly, social media has made socializing seem like a chore. And when I say “socializing”, I meant talking on the phone or having a conversation face-to-face. I’ve heard a bunch of people exclaim “I posted it in Facebook!” when someone says “I didn’t know you got engaged!” (or any other life-changing news)

I admit, I’ve become one of those I-posted-it-on-Facebook kind of friends, but this year I’ve been trying to be more sociable in the real sense of the word. It’s quite enjoyable, and it makes every bit of life-changing news more personal. My only qualm about becoming more sociable is this: Most people in my life are still hooked up to their phones/laptops/tablets. They’re still the I-posted-it-on-Facebook type. That makes me NOT want to share personal news with them.

Why? Because I feel cheated that I share my bit of personal stuff to someone who doesn’t do the same.

I know there are some things that others want to keep to themselves, but I don’t understand anymore why they keep posting personal stuff in their social network accounts but won’t even bother personally telling a supposedly-close-friend what’s been going on in their lives.

Social media has made socializing ironic. And it’s a relief that there are still those who meet up with their friends or relatives, share a meal and catch up on one anothers’ lives.

Leave a Reply

