His plan, not mine

I’ve been very clear to the few people who knew about our pregnancy from the beginning that I’m looking forward to giving birth to a baby boy. I started calling the baby a “him”, and would make a face when someone would say it looked like I’m carrying a girl.

Nineteen weeks into the pregnancy, we found out we will welcome Isla Laura into our little family on February 27, 2015. To be honest, I was a little disappointed. My husband has been reminding me that the important thing is the baby will be healthy.

Over the last few days, I learned to get excited about this little lady growing stronger in me. Sometimes, in the middle of the night, I feel a throbbing sensation in my lower abdomen. Or I feel Isla tickling me from inside. Or I feel her suddenly moving when I play music on my iPad. I started searching for newborn Β winter clothes for baby girls, and that did it for me. It may sound shallow, but it worked! I LOVE that we’re having a baby girl. I’m really excited to welcome little Isla Laura into our life.

Having this little baby girl is one of the many reminders that what I want doesn’t matter. What matters is God’s plan. No matter how well I plan something and how hard I pray, God will come through with His plans. He knows what’s best for His children.

I may not be welcoming a baby boy next year, but I know that Isla Laura was sent to us by our Heavenly Father. And I’m truly grateful for that.

Isla Laura at 19 weeks
Isla Laura at 19 weeks
2 thoughts on “His plan, not mine

  1. I was convinced my baby was a boy too! I used to get so angry when people even suggested that baby might be a girl… but, shes a girl!!! 28 weeks and I cant WAIT to meet her! Congrats on your pregnancy!

    Like

Leave a Reply

