Of Braxton Hicks

Tonight between 8:15-8:45 PM, while chatting over dinner, I felt what seemed like contractions across my belly. The first time it happened, I thought it was because I was in an incorrect sitting position. But it happened a second time, about 30 minutes later. It was not really painful. I mean, it was a bit and it caught me by surprise (my first time feeling it!) It was just like a heavy cramp (but not like menstrual cramp) that radiates across my entire belly. It was as if someone was pulling my tummy hard from the inside, making me grab anything near me (which was my husband’s knee). Just as sudden, the sensation was gone after about 5 seconds.

I’m now 21 weeks pregnant. I read that a woman may feel Braxton Hicks contractions after the 20th week. My friend, who’s in her third trimester, said she hasn’t felt any contraction-like sensations at all.

Any other mothers who remember when they started feeling those “practice contractions”? Let me know in your comments!

3 thoughts on “Of Braxton Hicks

    1. It did feel like my tummy was very tight for a few seconds and then it went away. It may not have been painful, but “ouch” was my initial reaction when I felt it. It was the first time I felt something like it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

