Book club

When I found out that Emma Watson announced in her Twitter account that she, along with a few others, created a virtual book club in Goodreads named “Our Shared Shelf”, I immediately checked it out. I want to achieve my goal of reading 12 books this year, so I decided to join this group. It will also expose me to the kinds of books that I won’t usually pick up in a bookstore. Might do me some good.

Emma Watson is a UN Women Goodwill Ambassador, so I wasn’t surprised that the virtual book club she organized is geared towards feminism. The January book was Gloria Steinem’s “My Life On The Road”.

I don’t read nonfiction unless I have to. I didn’t have to read “My Life On The Road”, but I did. Actually, I’m still trying to finish it (work + baby + house chores = a very tired wife and mama). It’s actually an interesting read. It has a lot of stories/anecdotes of Gloria Steinem’s travels. I was amused by some of them and perplexed by others. The book is full of stories of gender and racial inequality many many decades ago. What makes those stories real to me is the reality that gender and racial inequality still exist today. I’ve had my share of gender and racial discrimination when I moved to the US. The inequality might not be as bad as those days, but it still exists. And this book is helping me learn a lot about feminism – what it is and what it’s not. It helps change my perception of a feminist and helps me realize how much of a feminist I am.

I’m halfway through the book, and I can’t wait to reach the end. If you’re looking for the next book to add to your shelf (or e-reader), check out Gloria Steinem’s “My Life On The Road”.

Leave a Reply

