How you doin’?

What’s up? What’s going on? Where’ve you been? How you doin’?

It would be great to hear what you’ve been up to and how you’ve been doing these last few months.

Me? I am doing pretty well. It actually surprises me how well I’ve been doing the past few months. And I’m glad I am doing well.

Our family went to LA to celebrate a wedding, and we made a one-week vacation out of it. Incidentally, it’s our baby’s first airplane ride. There were a lot of lessons learned, which I will take to heart in December, when we (and by “we” I mean just me and the 1-year old!) go on a 20-hour travel (layover included) to go to the Philippines.

Visiting LA was scary and tiring and empowering. We stayed somewhere close to where the wedding will take place and where most of our relatives live, which is 1-1.5hrs away from LAX (depending on traffic). It’s different from here in NYC, where we can easily take the bus and/or subway to see places. And we live 20 minutes away from JFK and LGA. I was designated driver in LA. I drove maybe 5 times only on a highway here in NYC and didn’t exceed 60mph. The first few days of driving was fun. It was empowering to know that I can driveΒ 70-80mph. And it’s scary, too. But the scare factor helped me stay focused and kept my adrenalin up. Towards the end of the vacation, I was getting tired of driving to get to where we wanted! LOL! I’m just not used to driving! My husband took the wheel when I knew I really couldn’t do it anymore.

After our one-week vacation, we entertained a cousin and his wife when they visited NYC. We took them around Central Park and Grand Central Terminal. It was, incidentally, our baby’s first time there so it was a milestone day for us.

Work is still work. I’m still pretty much involved in two different teams, but the efforts are paying off really well for me. I’m hoping I get that promotion before the end of the year!

So. How you doin’?

Leave a Reply

