Training Day 2: Race for the Cure

I felt stronger during Day 2 of training on June 28th. I followed the same 6:1 interval that I used during Day 1. I completed the first 2 intervals easily. I completed the first 1 mile in about 11 minutes. My previous record was nearly 13 minutes. And today I finished the distance about 3 minutes faster than Day 1. I am so happy!

All throughout my run, I kept asking myself what I did differently before I started Day 1 and before I started Day 2. Nothing, really. I think my body is slowly adjusting and building the stamina to complete the 5k / 3.1mi distance at a faster pace. Hopefully the downward trend on my runtime continues as I complete my training for the Sept 10th Race For The Cure, hosted by Komen Greater NYC.

20160728_232257

If you’d like to support by donating, please visit my Race Page  http://www.komennyc.org/goto/RizzaGutierrez. Every dollar will go a long way to raise funds to deliver food to women in treatment, offer transportation to chemo, provide screenings, and help fund more research to find cures.

If you want to support by joining the run on September 10th in Central Park in New York City, please visit http://www.komennyc.org/site/TR?pg=entry&fr_id=1551 to register.

Leave a Reply

